Solar Valley-Dezhou

Date: 2016-01-18, Source: , Total Visits :

Dezhou City is known as “China Solar City”, “China Functional Sugar City”, “China Central Air-Conditioning City”, “China Cereal, Oil and Food City”, “China Auto Parts Industry City”, “China’s Outstanding Tourism City” and “National Sanitary City”, and also named “Bio-Industry National Hi-tech Industry Base”, “New Energy Industry Base of National Torch Program” and “National Renewable Energy Building Application Demonstration City”. Besides, Dezhou is a national main transportation hub city.


Dezhou is located in the northwest of Shandong Province and at the north side of lower reaches of the Yellow River between 115°45′—117°36′E and 36°24′25″—38°0′32″N. It is bordered by Zhangwei New River to its north and close to the city of Cangzhou, Hebei; bordered by Wei Canal to its west and adjacent to the city of Hengshui, Hebei; borders on the city of Liaocheng to its southwest; and faces the city of Jinan to its south across the Yellow River and the city of Binzhou to its east. Dezhou is 320 km away from Beijing, the capital city of China. By spanning 200 km from east to west and 175 km from north to south, Dezhou occupies a total area of 10,356 km² which accounts for 7.55% of the total area of Shandong Province. Located at the junction of Beijing-Shanghai Railway and Dezhou-Shijiazhuang Railway, the city is cut through by Beijing-Shanghai (Fujian) Expressway, Qingdao-Yinchuan Expressway, Dezhou-Shijiazhuang Expressway and Beijing-Hangzhou Grand Canal as well as national highways of No.104, No.308 and No.205. Besides, Beijing-Shanghai High-speed Railway, Dezhou-Yantai Railway and Expressways of Dezhou-Shangqiu and Dezhou-Binzhou are under construction. The regional transportation advantages are therefore highlighted. In 2006, Dezhou was recognized as a national main transportation hub city.


Dezhou is located in the alluvial plain of the Yellow River. In history, there were two great migrations of the Yellow River taking place within its territory, causing dam burst for over a thousand times and resulting in the landform which inclines from southwest to northeast. The flooding and flow speed together with wind deposit led to the landform features such as rolling plain, alternating distribution of hills, hillside lands and low-lying lands, etc. There are various landforms in the whole city which can be roughly divided into three types: the first is highlands which were formed by fluvial and river bed deposits, covering 34.3% of the total land area; the second is hillside lands which were formed by Yellow River flooding and unconcentrated flow deposits, covering 52.1% of the total land area; and the third is low-lying lands, covering 13.6%.


The city is cut through by large trans-province rivers mainly including the Yellow River, Wei Canal and Zhangwei New River, and by backbone trans-city drainage rivers including Tuhai River, Dehui New River and Majia River. The above rivers, other than the Yellow River, all fall under the southern Haihe River Basin. Besides the above large trans-province and trans-city rivers, there are two large tributary rivers. each covering more than 1000 square kilometers in the city: The first one is New Zhaoniu River which is located in the south of Yucheng and the west of Qihe and falling under Tuhai River Basin; and the second one is Liuwu River which is located on the both sides of Chengong Dam, falling under Zhangwei New River Basin. There are also 12 tributary rivers each covering 300-1000 square kilometers in the city, including Wei River, Si New River, Guanshi River, Old Zhaoniu River and Dengjin River falling under Tuhai River Basin, all of which are located in the south of Tuhai River; Duma River, Song River, Ningjin River and Yuejin River falling under Majia River Basin; and Yulin River, Linshang River and Yuejin River falling under Dehui New River Basin. Other than the above major tributary rivers, there are 53 tributary rivers each covering an area of 100-300 square kilometers, and 114 tributary rivers each covering an area of 30-100 square kilometers, all of they basically form a water conservancy system which makes trunk rivers, tributary rivers and the basins connected with each other and is capable of drainage and diversion as well. However, since the Yellow River has fallen short of water resources in recent years and the rivers running within the territory of the city all fall under rainfall source rivers whose water volume is closely related to the climate characteristic of extremely uneven distribution of rainfall between the upstream area and the city. In rainy season, the rainfall surges and the water level rises, resulting in flood peak, and even developing into flood disaster; while in drought period, most of the rivers successively dry up.


Dezhou’s climate basically features significant influence of monsoon, four distinctive seasons, well-defined cold, hot, dry and wet seasons, drought, windiness and quick warm-back in spring, torridity and raininess in summer, coolness and more sunniness in autumn, and chilliness, less snow and more dryness in winter, which is characterized by a typical continental climate. There is plenty of sunshine resource with long hours of intense sunshine which are mostly distributed in the early and mid-term stage of crop growth, beneficial to the crop photosynthesis. The whole city enjoys an annual average of 2592 hours of sunshine with the sunshine rate at 60%, and the total solar radiation of 124.8kcal/cm², both at the national and provincial high levels. In terms of time distribution, the hours of sunshine peak in May and June with 280 hours of monthly sunshine duration, a daily average of 9 hours and the solar radiation up to 15kcal/cm². The annual average temperature in the city is 12.9℃. The extreme maximum temperature was 43.4℃ (taking place in Decheng District on July 23, 1955), while the extreme minimum temperature was -27℃ (taking place in Decheng District on January 15, 1958). The city enjoys a frost-free season of up to 208 days on average, normally starting from March 29 until October 24. The duration varies greatly from county to county with the longest season of 225 days in Wucheng County and the gap between the east and the west is nearly up to a month. The annual average rainfall in the city is 547.5mm with more rainfall in the east than in the west and more in the south than in the north. In terms of rainfall time distribution, the highest rainfall takes place in July and the average rainfall in the city is 190mm with minimum rainfall of only 3.5mm in January. In terms of rainfall distribution by seasons, 12.8% of the rainfall is distributed in spring, up to 67.7% in summer, 16.9 in autumn and only 2.6% in winter, which is characterized as a distinctive seasonal distribution with “less rain and more drought in spring, less rain and more sunniness in autumn, more rain and frequent waterlog in summer and less snow and more dryness in winter”.

Administrative Division

By the end of 2013, Dezhou governs Decheng District, Leling City, Yucheng City, Linyi County, Pingyuan County, Xiajin County, Wucheng County, Qingyun County, Ningjin County, Lingxian County, Qihe County, Dezhou Economic and Technical Development Zone and Dezhou Yunhe Economic Development Zone. There are 88 towns, 19 counties and 27 subdistricts. 

Produced By 大汉网络 大汉版通发布系统